AC Temple

Noel Kilbride (guitar) / Neil Woodward (bass) / Jayne Waterfall (drums) / Dave Giles (vocals) later Andy Hartley (bass)

An alternative rock band from Sheffield. Mixing industrial noise with guitars and effects, they were compared in their early days to the likes of The Birthday Party and Sonic Youth. The band's first two albums, Songs of Praise and Blowtorch, were released on the Further label, subsequently signing to Blast First. They recorded a session for John Peel's BBC Radio 1 show in 1987. Guitarist Paul Dorrington joined in 1987 but departed the following year to form Tse Tse Fly. With bassist Chris Trout (formerly of Kilgore Trout), guitarist Tim Beckham and drummer Mat Silcox on board, the band released their third album, Sourpuss, in 1989. A final effort, Belinda Backwards, was released in 1991, before the band split up.